The Confederate Veterans of Elm Grove Cemetery

Submitted by Helen Richman Wisdom


Confederate Veterans' immigration to Roddy area evidenced by burials at local cemetery


West of what is now Roddy, Van Zandt County, Texas, is the Elm Grove Church and cemetery. According to Joanne Dew Cumnock in the monograph "Elm Grove Union Church", before the Civil War there were few settlers in the area of Roddy/Elm Grove as evidenced by the US Census of 1840 and 1850. After the war, however, when taxes escalated in the settled areas of East Texas, there was a migration of Confederate veterans and their families to this location just five miles northeast of Mabank. At least thirty-four of these veterans are buried at the Elm Grove Cemetery. Members of the church have compiled three volumes of data about the church, the cemetery, and Mono School which served the community for many years. The books were the work of many volunteers led by Joanne Dew Comnock, B. J. Comnock, and Helen Richman Wisdom.

The enumeration of the cemetery and the Confederate veterans buried there was completed in 1988 and has been updated with some minor errors corrected by Helen Wisdom.

To reach the cemetery, go north on Highway 198 from Mabank for 4.5 miles to Roddy. Follow County Road 2721 north for 1.5 miles. Turn east onto County Road 2708 and follow it to the Elm Grove Church and cemetery.

(This was a four-part series prepared by Mrs. Wisdom with photos by R. C. Stokes and published in the RSGS Newsletter, the newsletter of Root Seekers Genealogical Society of Mabank, Texas. The articles give some details of the lives of these Confederate veterans and their descendants.)


The Confederate Veterans and Their Legacy
John D. Aston

Jeremiah A. Barnes

John Cornelius Brooks

Benjamin F. Carpenter

Alfred D. Clardy

J. W. Crabtree

Thomas Leviticus Davidson

Andrew Jackson Harper

James Russell Higginbotham

Anthony Gray Hyde

Walter A. Jarrell

James A. Johnson

Jessie Boren Jordan

James Benjamin Richard Lester

T. H. Maness

Robert Matthews

Thomas Pressley Matthews

William F. McKee

A. J. McKnight

Willis M. Murphrey

Sanford W. Norris

Calvin Lee Orman

George W. Phillips

Thomas Ruffin Pleasant

Albert Taylor Rice

Caleb Jackson Smith

John Allen Tharp

George A. Thomas

Francis Marion Thomason

Thomas G. Thompson

Isaac H. Venerable

Eli Hobson Whitley

Alexander Pierce Wisdom

Thomas Wesley Young




Return to "The Great Adventure Begins"

Return to RSGS Home Page

Copyright Notice: In keeping with our policy of providing free information on the internet, data may be used by non-commercial entities as long as this message including credits remains on all copied material. These electronic pages may NOT be reproduced in any format for profit or presentation by other persons or organizations.

Persons or organizations desiring to use this material for purposes other than stated above must obtain the permission of R. C. Stokes at